Home » Entertainment » Low-Rise Jeans Are Getting a Little Ridiculous

Low-Rise Jeans Are Getting a Little Ridiculous

When I was a teenager and in ballet class, I was told my tutu had to be at my waist.  When the teacher was busy elsewhere, I’d slip it down to my hips.  When she came back, she put it back up to my waist.  Guess who won?  (That would be my ballet teacher.) 

That tutu felt so strange at my waist!  Since all my pants, shorts, and skirts came to my hips, that was what I was used to.  Wearing clothing at your waist was (and still largely is) unfashionable and for elderly grandmas, not “cool” people. 

My jeans still come to my hips, not my waist. 

But, since I don’t want to show off my underwear when I bend over, I wear really long t-shirts, or, more often, really long camis or tank tops under my t-shirts. 

Over the last few years, I’ve noticed the rise of low-rise jeans getting lower and lower.  Now, it feels like jeans barely cover my butt and my tank tops are resembling mini dresses. 

My question is, why the change?  Do women like showing off their thongs, or, worse yet, the dreaded “plumber crack”? 

There’s even special products you can buy, like the Hip-T, that’s basically a tube top that you put around your waist to cover the gap between your blouse and your blue jeans. 

Sometimes, fashion gets a little crazy, and it’s up to reasonable women to bring back sanity!


3 Comments

  1. Mikey G says:

    “Fashion is a form of ugliness so intolerable that we have to alter it every six months.”
    Oscar Wilde

  2. marty says:

    I think high rise has been the norm for a few years now.

What do you think about it?