Home » Family History » Mashed Bananas on Toast

Mashed Bananas on Toast

You’re going to think I’m totally weird.  Okay, I am totally weird, but keep reading anyway.

This might change your life.

I am about to explain to you how to make mashed bananas on toast, or, as I usually call it, “mashed nanas on toast.”  I learned this from my dad, who learned this from his mom.  I don’t know if it goes back any farther than that, but that’s far enough to say it’s been passed down in the family.

 

20160717_182529

Use bananas that are ripe, and even heading towards overripe.  Add a glop of the fruit spread of your choice.

20160717_182909

Then you mash it all up.  I ended up adding a third banana.  You can add more banana or more fruit spread as suits you.

20160717_183507

Then you spread it on toast.  I grew up on wheat bread, but once I started buying my own groceries, I found I rather preferred sourdough.  You can also spread butter on the toast first, but I didn’t (sorry, Dad).

This made enough for 6 pieces of toast.  On average, one banana yields enough for two pieces of toast.  You may need several napkins.

Go ahead, try it.

It may change your life.

 

What do you think about it?

