Home » Music » Hymns in Common

Hymns in Common

Here follows a list of hymns that Catholics and Mormons have in common.  But first, a little background, because it amuses me to tell it:

My husband and I are historical reenactors.  We, along with our guild, portray the court of Mary, Queen of Scots, at Scottish games.  One of the things my husband and I do at these events is sing folk songs for our own amusement and for the patrons.  Since we don’t go to church on weekends with faire, we wanted to sing some hymns with one of our fellow reenactors.  He’s Catholic, and we’re Mormon.  So we had to figure out some hymns that we both knew.

So I called my mom to ask her to look in the hymnbook.  But she wasn’t home and couldn’t help me.   “Call your brother,” she said, so I did.  It must have sounded like a strange request.  I asked him to open the hymnbook to the index and start reading titles.  When he came to a title that my husband and I and our Catholic friend knew, we had my brother read out the lyrics to us and I wrote them down.

I’ve since created a songbook for use at faire with folk songs and hymns that we know or are trying to learn.  The hymns section began with that modest list.  Here I’ve expanded that list after some more research into LDS and Catholic hymnodies:

  • “All Creatures of Our God and King” Text: St. Francis of Assisi; Music: German folk tune
  • “All Glory, Laud, and Honor” Text: Theodulph of Orleans; Music: Melchior Teschner
  • “Angels We Have Heard on High” Text and Music: French carol
  • “Beautiful Savior” (Crusader’s Hymn) Text: Anonymous, 12th century; Music: Silesian folk song
  • “Christ the Lord is Risen Today” Text: Charles Wesley; Music: Anonymous; Lyra Davidica
  • “Faith of Our Fathers” Text: Frederick W. Faber; Music: Henri F. Hemy; Refrain: James G. Walton
  • “For the Beauty of the Earth” Text: Folliott S. Pierpont; Music: Conrad Kocher
  • “Hark! The Herald Angels Sing” Text: Charles Wesley; Music: Felix Mendlessohn
  • “I Know that My Redeemer Lives” Text: Lewis D. Edwards; Music: Samuel Medley
  • “Jesus, the Very Thought of Thee” Text: Attr. to Bernard of Clairvoux; Music: John B. Dykes
  • “Joy to the World” Text: Isaac Watts; Music: George F. Handel, arr. by Lowell Mason
  • “Oh Come, All Ye Faithful” Text: Attr. to John F. Wade; Music: Attr. to John F. Wade
  • “Once in Royal David’s City” Text: Cecil Francis Alexander; Music: Henry J. Gauntlett
  • “Praise God, from Whom All Blessings Flow” (the Doxology) Text: Thomas Ken; Music: Louis Bourgeois, from Genfer Psalter, 16th century
  • “Praise to the Lord, the Almighty” Text: Joachim Neander; Music: from Stralsand Gesangbuch, arr. by William S. Bennett and Otto Goldschmidt

Songs that are not part of the official LDS hymnbook, but known among Latter Day Saints:

  • “O Come O Come Emmanuel” Text: Anonymous; Music: French tune, circa 1400s
  • “Be Thou My Vision” Text and Music: Ancient Irish hymn

Latter Day Saint official hymnbook and other music resources:  https://www.lds.org/music/library?lang=eng

Catholic Hymns:

This isn’t really meant to be an exhaustive list, but it was an interesting way to spend an afternoon.  What are your favorite hymns?  Share them in the comments below!

What do you think about it?

