Home » Lifestyle » Fitness Blender: A Review

Fitness Blender: A Review

As I’ve said before, I hate exercising.  Passionately.  Over the last year, however, I’ve started exercising regularly, mostly because I want to eat food that actually tastes good and still be skinny.  (No, vegetables will never taste as good as bacon.  Salad will never taste as good as pizza.  Fruit, though enjoyable, isn’t a substitute for ice cream.)

I’ve tried a lot of different exercise videos (I refuse to go to the gym) and didn’t find anything I could really stick with until I found Fitness Blender.  They also have a YouTube channel, which is where I found them.  Daniel and Kelli are a husband and wife team who both work in fitness and created this site to make fitness more accessible to average people.  I recommend them to anyone who is trying to get in shape but is struggling with sticking with a fitness program.

Their videos offer many advantages:

  • Time – Many of us struggle with finding time for a workout.  Many of the fitness programs out there include hour-long workout videos, and, frankly, I do not have time for that.  As it is, during the school year I had to get up at 4:30 to find time to workout.  Good news is, Fitness Blender has videos as short at 5 minutes long!  I typically use their 10 minute abs workouts and 15 or so minute cardio workouts.
  • Variety – I don’t know about you, but I get bored really easily.  I don’t want to do the exact same workout more than once or twice a week. Fitness Blender has so many workout videos that I don’t even know how many there are.
  • Adaptability – New to working out or have bad knees?  Fitness Blender has numerous low-impact cardio workouts.  Bad back?  There are gentle lower back workouts.  Bad posture?  There’s an upper-body workout especially put together to help with that.  No matter what your physical need, there is probably a workout to help you work around it.  Unlike the hour-long super-intense workouts, there are numerous workouts from Fitness Blender that allows you to create a workout that accommodates your needs while still getting enough exercise.  Plus, in many of their videos, they explain ways to make the exercises easier or more challenging.
  • Clarity – The camera stays put.  Clear instructions are given for each exercise, particularly ones that are more complicated.  I’ve seen some exercise videos that become nearly impossible to follow, probably because the cameraman is dancing, too.  Fitness Blender is never like that.
  • No background music – Allowing me to listen to whatever music I want to while I workout.
  • No fake encouraging crap – In one of the videos I use regularly, Kelli even says “Do what you can” instead of the typical “You can do it!”  Seriously, after doing one of Billy Blank’s tae bo videos a few times, I wanted to punch him for his annoying pep talks.  The attitude of Fitness Blender, when they comment on your motivation at all, is more like, “Yes, we know it sucks.  Do it anyway.”
  • Cost – Oh, and did I mention it’s free?

Seriously, Fitness Blender is awesome.  I don’t even like exercising, but I’ve been able to stick with regular exercise for a year now because Fitness Blender helps me make exercising work for me.

Their website: https://www.fitnessblender.com/page/about-fitness-blender

YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/FitnessBlender

What do you think about it?

