Home » Politics » The Pain of Politics

The Pain of Politics

I’ve posted a lot about politics.  I also get into a lot of political arguments on Facebook.

And you know what?  It’s exhausting.  And not in a good way.

Say anything even slightly controversial online, and you are sure to be attacked.  There will be some people who agree with you.  Some people who genuinely want to have reasoned discussions and bring up good points.  But a lot of people are just plain nasty.

Here are some of the things I have been accused of online:

  • Hating poor people
  • Not caring about anyone but myself
  • Being stupid
  • Being uneducated
  • Not having any reasoning skills
  • Being hateful
  • Not being Christian
  • Abusing children
  • Oppressing women/being oppressed
  • Not believing in eyeglasses or pants

Yeah, I thought that last one was especially weird.  Someone needs to lay off the Kool Aid.

I’m really thin-skinned.  These sorts of comments really get to me.  I know I shouldn’t let them.  I should ignore comments like these, especially since they generally come from people who don’t even know me, and often only read one or two sentences I wrote before coming up with a bunch of baseless assumptions.

But they still bother me.

Politics have become so awful.  If someone disagrees with you, it must be because they’re an idiot and/or a horrible person.  Don’t bother trying to get to know them or their actual position on issues, and for goodness sake don’t think about their contrary opinion!  Just call them names.  That will make everything better.

I don’t really want to waste my time on people who are like that.

It would be nice if the internet had a “jerks” filter.  I don’t want anyone who is a jerk to read my blog.  That’s why all comments here have to be approved, first.  It’s the closest thing I have to a “jerk filter.”

I’ll still be posting political rants.  I’m just so tired of it all right now.

What do you think about it?

