Home » Entertainment » Go See Despicable Me: 2

Go See Despicable Me: 2

Today my husband and I went to the movies and saw Despicable Me: 2.  It was ABORABLE!

I haven’t seen all of the first movie, but enough to know the storyline.  Really, you only need a cursory knowledge of the first movie to enjoy the second one.

*Some spoilers ahead, but I’ll try to keep them to a minimum*

The storyline was fairly fast-paced and also a lot of fun.  There weren’t very many surprises, but was consistently interesting.  There was enough danger to keep things exciting.  The trailer did not give it all away, which is always a plus.

Gru, voiced by Steve Carell,  and his new partner/love interest, Lucy, voiced by Kristen Wiig, have great chemistry.  (It seems weird to be saying that about a cartoon, but it’s true.)  They are both so awkward and strangely loveable that they are obviously perfect for each other, though it takes Gru a while to figure that out.

Lucy herself is a very engaging character.  At first, I found her embarrassingly goofy and awkward, but soon came to adore her.

The minions are absolutely hilarious!  I can see why kids like them so much.  Every few scenes of the movie, the minions are doing something funny.  There are an awful lot of them, too.  According to Wikipedia, there are 899 minions.

The very best part of the whole movie (in my mind, at least), was when the minions were partying and singing “Another Irish Drinking Song” in their nonsense syllables.  I’m guessing most movie goers will not recognize that song, but as Irish drinking song aficionados, my husband and I certainly did.  Hearing that song in minion-speak made my day.  That scene alone made this movie worth the price of admission.  It’s on my list of best movie moments ever.

The minions’ two songs at the end were awesome, too, especially the love song.

Agnes is darling.  Her tender desire for a mother will break your heart.  The other girls are cute and funny, too, but Agnes is easily my favorite.

As you may have realized, I absolutely loved this movie.  I can’t remember the last time I’ve seen a movie that I would rave about as much as this one.  My husband really liked it too; he thought it was hilarious and engaging.  That makes it an extra good movie – a cute family cartoon that will appeal to guys who are ordinarily more into action movies than any other kind.

This movie is a must-see, and definitely worth the money.

 

What do you think about it?

