Home » Politics » Happy Independence Day!

Happy Independence Day!

Independence Day is more than family, BBQs, and fireworks, though all those are fun things.

I love Independence Day.  I don’t want to just call it the Fourth of July.  “Fourth of July” is just a description of the literal date.  Independence Day is what we are actually celebrating.  We are celebrating the anniversary of the day we declared independence from the oppressive rule of England.

I don’t really have any new or original thoughts about the importance and meaning of Independence Day.  I guess I’ll say my two cents anyway.

I’m proud to be American.  I always have been, and always will be.  I will never apologize for being American, though I might apologize for my government, which is usually some degree of bumbling.

The value of America has never been in her government, ground-breaking as it was.  Our Founding documents are truly amazing, and worthy of admiration.

The value of America is in her people.  The value is in people who work hard to care for themselves and their families, who live by their convictions, and have the courage to stand up for what they believe in.  Moral values, self-reliance, and thinking for ourselves are what makes us American.

Happy Independence Day!

2 Comments

  1. psreyna says:

    Reblogged this on Infinitely undefined world of… and commented:
    The beginning of our Future. Now, let’s regain control!

  2. Mikey Gee says:

    I am also a big fan of our country but not a huge fan of Independence Day. I am not a huge fan of BBQ’s (though I had a lot of fun today) I don’t like loud noises… and think the Founding Fathers were traitors. Don’t get me wrong, I am a loyal American and will defend the US Constitution but have trouble celebrating the divorce between a people and their country.

    I would have been a Torie back in the day and probably would have lost all of my property after the war (assuming you hadn’t tarred and feathered me). But I am against almost every violent political revolution in human history. The only exception I can think of would be the the Haitian Revolution. I don’t know a little a lot about it but from what I understand it was literal slaves uprising against literal slave masters as opposed to citizens taking arms against their God given government.

    But regardless the die is cast and I will support my government and try to make it better… through peaceful means.

What do you think about it?

