Home » Character » Happy Mother’s Day!

Happy Mother’s Day!

 

May 2013 020

I have the World’s Greatest Mom.  I’m guessing a lot of people feel that way about their moms, but I’m the one who’s right.  I’m thankful for all that she has taught me, through words and through her example.

I’m also thankful for all the other women who have taught, mentored, and loved me.  Every woman can be a teacher and a nurturer, even if she has no children of her own.

At my church on Sundays, we have a neat tradition.  Every woman in the congregation is given a long stemmed rose, in appreciation for their role as mothers and nurturers.  Unmarried and childless women receive roses as well, recognizing that they can also teach and nurture the next generation.

When I teach at school and at church, I do my best to love them and teach them good principles, knowing that any individual who interacts with them can have a huge impact on a child, for good or for ill.

Now back to my mom.  I was lucky enough to have a stay at home mom for my childhood and most of my adolescence.  She taught me my ABCs and 123s.  She taught me how important it is to get a good education, and taught me good study skills.  My mom also taught me to always do my best, but it’s also not the end of the world if we fail sometimes; we simply pick ourselves up and try again.  She taught me how to get along with others and to know when I need to speak my mind and when I need to just keep my mouth shut (not that I always follow that lesson!).  Most importantly, she taught me right from wrong, and to know God.

A mother has such a huge impact on her children.  She is the first person to love and teach them.  The love of a mother gives her children the security they need to learn, grow, fail, succeed, and pick themselves back up after the hard lessons of life.

A mother is the first person to teach her children morality.  Children first practice principles such as kindness, personal responsibility, and honesty within the context of their families.  They learn to give unconditional love by receiving it from their mother.

In short, moms are awesome, and the world would be a lot more screwed up of a place than it already is without them.

I’ll close with this quote about mothers that I’ve always loved:

“All that I am or hope to be I owe to my angel mother.”  -Abraham Lincoln

What do you think about it?

