Home » Religion » He is Not Here, He is Risen!

He is Not Here, He is Risen!

Easter ought to be the biggest holiday of the year.  Bigger than Christmas.  After all, it’s about the suffering, death, and resurrection of our Savior.  Without Easter, Christmas wouldn’t matter at all (religously).

Christ suffered for all of our sins in the garden of Gethsemane.

Even though he was the son of God, this was incredibly difficult.  But He was obedient to God’s will: “And he went a little further, and fell on his face, and prayed, saying, O my Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me: nevertheless not as I will, but as thou wilt” (Matthew 26: 39).

The pain He suffered was unbelievable: “And being in an agony he prayed more earnestly: and his sweat was as it were great drops of blood falling down to the ground” (Luke 22: 44).  He suffered so much that even He, the son of God, needed an angel to strengthen Him (Luke 22: 43).

After that, there was still more pain: the pain of betrayal by Judas, interrogation and scorn, a crown of thorns, and, finally, being crucified.

Christ’s disciples must have felt so much pain and loss.  Imagine their joy when they were able to see the resurrected Christ.

I sang a solo today in church, called “The Song of Mary Magdalene” by Mary Finlayson.  The lyrics came from John 20:13, “Woman, why weepest thou?”  “They have taken away my lord, and I know not where they have laid him.”

It was a beautiful song, and I was really nervous about singing it.  I wanted to do the song justice, and, mostly, wanted to not make a fool out of myself and to sound good.  I wanted praise for my singing.

But I realized last night that that was the wrong way to approach it.  So I prayed earnestly to God to help me to sing well to bring the spirit to the meeting and to glorify Him.  When my focus was on praising God, I felt calm.

Today, when I started singing, I could feel Mary’s pain.  Her grief and loss.  She loved the Savior so much.  And in the end, when she realized that the man she thought was the gardener was really Jesus, she felt pure joy.

To celebrate Easter, I’m having Easter dinner with my family.  We have some Easter candy, but nothing extravagant.  Where I am celebrating Easter is in my heart.

What do you think about it?

