Home » Lifestyle » Life is Too Short to Wear Boring Socks

Life is Too Short to Wear Boring Socks

Toe Socks 004

I have way more colorful socks than boring old white ones.  I have socks in a variety of colors, including a fair number of toe socks, and several along different themes, like Christmas, Halloween, and St. Patrick’s Day.  (The ones pictured, by the way, are indeed mine, and they say “Sweet & Irish.”

I assure you, I do not have a foot fetish, but it makes me happy to put on colorful socks (especially toe socks) along with dress slacks and nice blouses when I get dressed in the morning for work.

But the “life is too short” philosophy applies to more than just socks.  Let me give a few more examples…

Life is too short to listen to music you don’t like.

Life is too short to watch t.v. shows or movies you don’t enjoy.

Life is too short to always eat at the same restaurant.

Life is too short to spend all your weekends at home.

Life is too short to stay with people who bring you down.

I listen to the music I love.  Even when that means not knowing the popular songs, listening to the same song 5 times in a row, or getting funny looks when explaining what kind of music I like.

I don’t watch t.v. shows just because my friends like them.  I watch what makes me happy.  I stopped watching Glee about halfway through the second season.  I know it’s really popular, and I have friends who absolutely love it, but I realized I wasn’t enjoying it anymore, so I just stopped watching.

Sometimes I drag my husband to a restaurant we haven’t tried before, and even if we end up not liking it as much as some other restaurant we go to all the time, I feel satisfied that we tried something new.

I try to give my love and attention to people who will do the same for me.  I try to make my friends feel appreciated and valued, and I look for people who will reciprocate.

Of course, this is only a sampling of the “life is too short” philosophy.  A few years ago I made a conscious decision to approach life with the wonder I see in children.

Last week for science I soaked Lima beans in water and gave each of my students a few to take apart and examine.  One kid said it was the best science activity ever.  Wow – something as simple as a Lima bean made his day.

I try to approach life the same way.  I marvel at little things, like puffy white clouds, delicate flowers, and the way my students laugh.  Similarly, I make time for little, happy moments with friends and family.  Most of the pictures in my photo albums these days are of everyday moments.

Find what you enjoy, and do those things.  Appreciate life today, just for what it is.

What little things do you enjoy?  Share in the comments!

What do you think about it?

