Home » Lifestyle » I Hate Exercising

I Hate Exercising

I really do.

Unfortunately, I’m at the point in my life where my metabolism is slowing down and I have to exercise to maintain my figure.  No more of eating whatever I want, exercising only incidentally, and still being really skinny like when I was a teen.

Whenever I’m with friends (the female kind) and weight comes up, someone says “you’re so skinny, you don’t have to worry about it” (or some variation thereof).  I wish that were true.

Nope, maintaining my figure takes work.  And passing up dessert (at least some of the time).

Exercising regularly takes commitment.  In a busy schedule, it’s hard to find time to exercise at least three days a week when I come home from work every day exhausted (where, figuratively, at least, every day feels like a race).

It also takes money.  Exercise equipment, videos, classes, and gym memberships can cost a lot.  So I go with the cheap-o version of free videos on YouTube.

I also get bored easily with exercises.  I was really into yoga, then pilates, then jogging, then Wii Fit and dance games.  Each got old after awhile.  So every now and then I look for something new.  This can be a bit of a challenge, however, as my complete lack of coordination makes learning new exercises rather frustrating.

Exercise is touted as excellent stress relief.  Maybe it’s just because I’m neurotic, but for me exercising is generally the opposite.  I’m such a perfectionist that I become discouraged if I don’t do as well as I have before or when I’m huffing and puffing and the people in the video look amazing.

I hate the fitness experts with perfect figures who make exercise videos.  If I got paid to make exercise videos for a living, I could look like that too.

The proposed solution to hating exercise, I suppose, is “find something you enjoy doing.”  What I really want to do is Irish country dancing (called céilí) and is a kind of social dancing.  Unfortunately, there aren’t too many opportunities to go céilí dancing on a regular basis.

All right, I’ve done enough griping.  I’m pretty sure it’s not politically correct for a skinny person to complain about how hard it is to not gain weight, but I’m pretty sure the Internet was invented so people could complain about stuff to complete strangers.

1 Comment

  1. Mikey G says:

    I am in the find something you enjoy camp.

What do you think about it?

