Home » Books » Choosing a Book to Read

Choosing a Book to Read

I always have to have a book.  There’s always some book I’m in the process of reading, though sometimes that process is very slow.  And I always have a mental list of the books I’m going to read next.

There must always be a book I’m going to read next.

No, really.  I actually start to feel anxious if I’m almost done with my book and I don’t know what I’m going to read next.

As for how I choose my next book, as I mentioned in an earlier post, I choose from a mix of genres.  Growing up, I was addicted to sci-fi and fantasy novels.  I enjoyed most of the books I was assigned to read for English, but what I mostly wanted was sci-fi and fantasy.  This continued into college years, though I added the occasional mystery and thriller.

Then I was faced with the CSET.  The CSET is an evil test aspiring California teachers must take to get their teaching credentials.  It can contain nearly anything within the scope of human knowledge, from history to fine arts to math and science.  I studied several hours a day for a month solid from that test.

While I was studying, it occurred to me that, had I spent all those hours I spent reading sci-fi and fantasy reading history or economics instead, I would be incredibly knowledgeable.  You know, about something besides Dune and Middle Earth.

That’s when I resolved to broaden my horizons.

Now I alternate between my beloved novels and works of science, politics, history, linguistics, and other nonfiction disciplines.  I am better informed, and get really excited about the stuff I learn.

What do you like to read?  Share your thoughts in the comments below.

1 Comment

  1. Mikey G says:

    I’m currently bouncing between Plato’s Republic, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and my exective functioning text books.

What do you think about it?

